Tags

,

Ryan Lock, a 20 year old British YPG fighter, died on 21 December 2016 during a battle against ISIS in Raqqa’s countryside.

Lock joined the primarily Kurdish YPG as a volunteer after telling his family he went to Turkey for a holiday.

A member of the YPG has told the BBC that a ‘trace of a gunshot wound was found under the chin’ suggesting that Lock killed himseld before he was captured by ISIS.

Mark Campbell, a Kurdish-rights activist, told the BBC: “Ryan Lock may very well have turned his own gun upon himself rather than be taken prisoner by ISIS.

“There are no words to describe the bravery required to take such an action.

“ISIS were robbed of a predictable macabre propaganda opportunity by Ryan’s action.

“I personally believe he deserves the very highest of military honours for such outstanding bravery in the face of such a barbaric enemy.”

According to the Guardian, Ryan sent a final message via Facebook on 31 August before illegally entering Syria from Turkey in the same manner that jihadists illegally enter the war torn country.

“I’m on my way to Rojava. I lied about going to Turkey. I’m sorry I didn’t tell anyone. I love all of you and I will be back in six months,” the message said.